Old testament and new Technology

As a fun project for my old testament class oral report I decided to do something none of the students in the class had ever seen. So I mixed up the old and the new with the help of Metaio a little wikipedia information, some Blender and the help of my cellphone and a piece of paper. I took the opportunity to show some of my fellow students the potential of Augmented Reality while giving a report on the Desert Tabernacle of Moses.

Here’s some sample screen captures taken from my phone so you can get how it looks live.

Sample viewed before scanning the qr code

Sample layout taken from wikipedia article. I added the junaio qr code to it.

Sample layout taken from wikipedia article. I added the junaio qr code to it.

Sample viewed trough the Junaio app

This is how it looks trough the app.

This is how it looks trough the app.

The model is a low poly, and textured version based on a printable concept. It is not 100% accurate or complete by my standards but it was a nice test.
It’s not about showing off more than the fact that I like to give back to the community what little extra information I find that may be useful to know about. Who knows?… maybe they’ll find it so interesting that they can do something with it in the future.

I’m not sure how long it will be fully functional and the model is set to be “fast detection/ low precision” which means it will be easy to detect but may jump a little if not angled right.

I’ll post my target image with the qr code so you can try it out. Remember it only works if you download the junaio app from your mobile’s app store (it is free). Have fun and I hope this article is a bit informative if not inspiring I’m certain some of you can do something cool with this.

enjoy this is an example of my little project I hope you like it.

enjoy this is an example of my little project I hope you like it.

If you find interest in the desert tabernacle you can find tons of information google-ing it but this site has some very nice information too :
http://thedeserttabernacle.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

